Baseball Jeremiad

Icon

A Curiously Intelligent Baseball blog

The Print Media

There’s a great feature on the WordPress “dashboard” called “quick press.” It allows a blogger to post directly to the site, without go through the entire “add new post” process. The drawback is that there appears no easy way to add hyperlinks through this shortcut process. However, it does allow for quick thoughts to be shared and other types of media to be added.

Thus: a quick thought.

What type of role does the print media continue to play in baseball, I wonder. I’m just as addicted to Neyer, Posanaski, Calcaterra, Fan Graphs, the Hardball Times and Sabernomics as the next guy. Yet, I can’t forget the joy in my Mets loving household when someone picked up the Sunday New York Daily News after church. My father, as patriarch got it first and rifled through to read Bill Madden, Mike Lupica and John Harper, among others. I still remember needing to get a copy of both the News and the New York Post to see the back page when the Yankees took one on the chin or the Mets triumphed.

And you know, I don’t want to lose that. I still take joy in rifling through a paper to see the news of “my team.” Despite their sometimes antiquated views on baseball, I find the beat writer and weekly columnist to be a part of following the game that I’m not quite ready to give up. Call me old-fashioned, but if the newspapers stop writing about baseball — or publish only wire reports — the game will only suffer.

Filed under: Uncategorized, ,

2 Responses

  1. jjb says:

    I take a third way, in that I like to read the beat writers and other local hacks, though online (of course, that’s because I don’t care about the market I live in).

Leave a Reply

